Skip to content

It’s been a great month for your inner child.

September 30, 2011

Among the poets and authors whose work is equally loved and recognized by both children and adults, it’s my unscientific finding that Shel Silverstein and Dr. Seuss are at the top of the list. And in the past two weeks we’ve been lucky enough to see a new book from each.

Every Thing On It is a new collection of previously unpublished poems and drawings by Silverstein, who passed away in 1999. In the tradition of Where the Sidewalk Ends and A Light in the Attic, Silverstein’s latest is full of his trademark sweet-but-silly humor and quirky, memorable characters.

The Bippolo Seed and Other Lost Stories by Dr. Seuss collects in a book for the first time  seven stories that previously appeared only in magazines. Some of these stories, explains Seuss scholar Charles D. Cohen (yes, there are people who dedicate their careers to studying Seuss’s work!),  served as first drafts for ideas and themes Seuss used in his later books such as The Cat in the Hat. There’s also an audio version of The Bippolo Seed, with stories read by famous names including Neil Patrick Harris, Anjelica Huston, and William H. Macy.

Check out these new books for a child in your life, or for the child within yourself. They’re pure fun.

Advertisements
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: